The Higher School of Jewish Rabbis in Telšiai was founded in 1875. The current yeshiva building was built in 1910. It was one of the most famous spiritual seminaries in Eastern Europe. countries. Up to 500 students studied here at one time.
During the interwar period, Javnė, an important Jewish spiritual and Hebrew language center, operated near the Telšiai yeshiva. The Rabbinic school developed a unique concept of “Telšiai” teaching in the yeshiva, which became the basis for teaching in many orthodox Yeshivahs in the United States. 1940 After the Soviet occupation of Lithuania, the yeshiva was closed. at present, the yeshiva acts as an exhibition unit of the Samogitian Museum "Alka" and a space for various events.